On this page:

4.16.1 Objectives
4.16.2 Resources
4.16.3 Map
4.16.4 Strategy overview

4.16.1 Objectives

4.16.2 Resources

4.16.3 Map

Skip preformatted map

\,--------------------------./
||            [A]      [B]  ||
||         [C]      [D]     ||
||   [E]                    ||
||                [F]   [G] ||
||     [H]  [I][!J]@     [K]||
||            [L][M]        ||
||                    [N]   ||
|| [O]           [P]        ||
||                     [Q]  ||
/'--------------------------'\

4.16.4 Strategy overview

The population objective does not seem particularly onerous considering this is a four-star scenario, even given the relatively small amount of land available for settlement. The main problem is the other players are highly aggressive, and tends to attack you before you have developed sufficiently to repel them.

Joe Cool writes: "He [the enemy] has a set envy level. When you get citizens he will start to attack. Make sure your city is surrounded by towwers right after he starts attacking. But before that try making good peace with him. It will slow his rampage down." From tanner_85: "You could always try paying a tribute, and offering peace and trade agreements. That should hold the attackers at bay until you build your own army. However, I've come to notice that when I train soldiers, as soon as I send them out of the castle, some of the players take it as an insult, and initiate (foolish) attacks on me."

Ches writes: "Try to build a wall around your island as Al always does. If he try to attack you, first he'll try to destroy part of the wall which is easy to fix." Manfred notes: "You can also plant some trees and fields along the coast if you have space, that will slow the competitors down and is cheaper. Remember that only the watchtower can shot over trees and buildings, the soldiers cannot. They have to destroy the trees in front of a target first. Quite useful to secure certain buildings like the markets. As soon as I can build cannons, I ship 4-6 cannons and building material on my otherwise undefended islands. If the competitor lands his troops on one of my islands I immediately drop some trees between those soldiers and my buildings and right behind them I build a watchtower."

Robitoby writes: "Red declares war on me once I reach 600 inhabitants. I've only 1 small trading-ship, armed with 4 cannons (still no cannon-foundry). Well, he comes along with a big battle-ship, I sail my ship to my ship-yard and start repairing it while he's fighting me. Well, his ship sinks, and at the same moment a second one appears, a big trading-ship this time. Well, that way I sank 5 of his ships and what happened? His population decreased as he couldn't supply it anymore."